Evolution of Desires

Woman looking around man's face

Previously for the human race to survive, we as a species experienced an evolution of the physical body. Survival today, is not about the human species alone, but rather a question about the survival of the world – and it is time for an evolution of consciousness.

Every desire starts with a thought, which may or may not get fulfilled. How one behaves to fulfill them and more importantly one’s reaction, when the desires are fulfilled or not fulfilled shows the level of evolution of consciousness.

The conscious levels of desire can be categorized as follows:

1. The Lowest level of Desire.

These desires arise from the most contracted, lowest level of awareness. A few examples would be the desire of a addict to get his/her substance of abuse – he/she is ready to go to any lengths whatsoever to fulfill the need. It could involve breaking the law, stealing, not caring for others feelings, not caring for how it effects not only others but them selves too.

Another most contracted desire could be to advance materialistically, to make money at any cost: i.e. to lie, rob, and trample on others.

2. The Second level of Desire.

Here a person has a desire, a goal born in a little higher level of consciousness.

Now here if the desires are fulfilled the person is very happy, but if not the person is very bad, angry and depressed.

For example in pursuing the desire to be rich, a person may work very hard ethically not stealing, robbing, trampling over others. If the desire or goal is met, the person is elated. But if it is not met, the reverse is experienced: a person can become very angry, frustrated or depressed – leading to other vices like addictions, alcoholism, or becoming short tempered.

His/Her reaction is almost extreme either in fulfillment or in disappointment.

3. The Third level of Desire.

Here the person has desires and goals, works hard to fulfill them ethically, but reacts to whether they are fulfilled or not fulfilled in a less dramatic way.

The person operating from this level has the spirit of Surrender to the divine spirit. This is result to the higher level of consciousness. As it is said in the Bhagavad Gita:

“To action alone hast thou a right and never at all to its fruits; let not the fruits of action be thy motive;”
Verse 47, Chapter 2-Samkhya theory and Yoga practise, The Bhagavad Gita

4.Highest form of desire.

Here the person functions from the highest level of expanded consciousness. He/She is almost desire-less as far any personal gains are concerned. It all about sharing, being of service. It is all about Seva: of gratitude and thank you to the universe in every moment.

This the level form where Buddha, Krishna, Christ functioned; they still went about daily lives but from level of enlightenment.


Nine things you can do to evolve your desire consciousness:

  1. Daily meditation
  2. Reading books like Bible, Gita
  3. Volunteering
  4. Daily act of random giving
  5. Keeping a gratitude journal.
  6. Seeing the glass half full rather than half empty.
  7. Most importantly surrender to the Spirit.
  8. Universal love
  9. Divine love

Connect with Us


Go to top